The Twelve Trusts

Just back from the second weekend of The Mystery of Relationships. We had a wonderful session exploring the archetypes of the Healthy Masculine (dynamic energy) and the Healthy Feminine (receptive energy).


One highlight of the weekend was the dialogue between the men and women, where each gender shared insights and curiosities about "the sacred other."


It's facinating to see how locked in we are to our stereotypes, preconceptions and misconceptions about gender.


When we move out of prejudice into curiosity and respect, new insights emerge in a space of deep dialogue and intimacy.


One of the foundation stones of the weekend was The Twelve Trusts, a contemporary version of the Knight's Oath of Chivalry. The Code of Chivalry dates back to the Dark Ages.


I found this material at a wonderful website called Chivalry Now (


It begins:


Upon my honor,


1. I will develop my life for the greater good.


2. I will place character above riches, and concern for others above personal wealth.


3. I will never boast, but cherish humility instead.


4. I will speak the truth at all times, and forever keep my word.


5. I will defend those who cannot defend themselves.


6. I will honor and respect women/men, and refute sexism in all its guises.


7. I will uphold justice by being fair to all.


8. I will be faithful in love and loyal in friendship.


9. I will abhor scandals and gossip–neither partake nor delight in them.


10. I will be generous to the poor and to those who need help.


11. I will forgive when asked, that my own mistakes will be forgiven.


12. I will live my life with courtesy and honor from this day forward.


The Twelve Trusts are one way that we can support ethical conduct and harmony in relationships. It is also an excellent teaching tool for young people.


What if we took this oath every morning? I think, perhaps, the world would be a better place!


© Patrick O’Neill 2011. All rights reserved.

Posted on September 27, 2011 and filed under Uncategorized.